This is problem…

This is my fourth day in kos,Greece. I understand why people say that Greece is one of the most beautiful places on earth. It is one of the few truths that i have heard leave peoples lips, and Kos is no exception. The people are very friendly, the weather is beautiful, and if someone asked me to choose two colours to sum up Greece it would be blue and white. Two colours i have never really liked, yet here they are beautiful, they compliment one another. They work. Its ironic that it is also the colour of their flag.

In the last four days I (and my daughter) have travelled the length of Greece. It has been my first time driving on the opposite side of the road. Something i never thought I would be able to do. But i done it. From hiring a motorbike, to driving a buggy. The scenery has been beautiful, the uneven tan i have from driving each individual vehicle is now marked on my body. My journey through the wonders of Kos i will be wearing back to the UK (home) in a few days.

The people are so friendly, they all seem to have fallen in love with my daughter and her beauty. Its is strange to be honest. They all ask me “Where is your husband?” something i found out is; that to have a child ‘one’ must assume you have a husband as well. Which is quite different from the way one perceives you, if you have a child in the UK. The men are so polite over here. I spent some time talking to a few about their culture their home life and the way they perceive the world through their upbringing. The world ‘Gentleman’ holds the same values and description which the word holds to someone born in the UK. Gentleman- should be refined in the dictionary as a ‘dying breed of men’.

One thing however i have found interesting is the perception of love and respect, men and women have over here. The women are very respectable and strong figures. The men are very respectable and have good values when viewing a woman in what they look for. Is Love a universal language that everyone speaks? Yes it is. But few understand the language or appreciate the attachment and the significance attached to it. The bottom line is a man is a man, and a woman is a woman. They fit certain stereotypes no matter that the circumstances.

I asked a question “If you have a girlfriend you have a relationship with one woman, do you think it is ok, to sleep and be with other women” I asked this primary out to curiosity from my own wanderings and hurt, from my interest in the difference of relationships in different cultures. The one man replied,
“I live in Albania and i come out to Kos to work for 7 months, so i can not go without doing something for that time. If i see pretty girl i like i do something” I asked if he would tell the girl whom he is in a relationship with. He said “No. Why i would tell her?”

That broke my little heart in men and relationships. As it is the common practice of men to think this way. Men can separate sex and love and commitment so easy. Maybe women can too, maybe thats why i can’t understand the way men can do it because i am not one of them women.

To my relief another guy spoke and said “You can do that? there is not something right with your relationship. If you love you can not do that, you do not feel like you want to be with someone else, no one else you like.” – This guy was by far the most morale guy. I liked his view of love and towards women and relationships. There is a million questions that i asked and the answered and they asked and i answered. They told me stories of their lives, and interesting perspectives. They tried their best to actually understand me, apparently English people talk very fast. I taught them a very polite word to ask someone to repeat what they said, if it was spoken to fast…’Pardon’
They would speak to me and if i did not hear or understand them i said ‘Pardon?’ They found this an amusing word. So now when i leave in two days a little bar in kos, Greece will say ‘Pardon?’ to the British people they do not understand. That makes me so happy.

I came to Greece a bit lonely and a bit down with my perspective of things, and with not much confidence in myself or the world, men, love or purpose.

I wot go home cured or with a new lease of life, I will just go home and be happy with the people i exchanged a few stories with and that gave me a few precious moments of their time and their life to me. I have also learnt that in Greece only two things are certain ‘Death and Taxes’ – I suppose its good to know.

I know that when a greek has more than two mosquito bites that “This is problem” A statement i laughed too hard at. They hate the mosquito bites just as much as anyone else and the mosquitoes just love blood, they are not fussy of race or gender.

Leave a Reply

